Skip to content

A Tarnished Memory

January 30, 2010
tags:
   

There is seldom a day that I do not think of you. 

My mind drifts back to the time of us and again remembers your smile,

     your face finely chiseled by the years of your life.

A more handsome man I have never met.  A greater gentleman has never entered my life.

Yet … I chose to leave. 

 

Ah – what a crazy time.  To be so swept up in us … like the joining of the ocean’s tide.

We said “I do.”  And life began as a duet of us.

So many times I’ve asked myself the proverbial “why” … why did I choose to let it end?

 

To California I traveled …  to begin a life I had never dreamed. 

With my parrots and dog in tow, we left the Gateway to the West.  And so much more.

I know now that life would have been kinder had I stayed

     and your arms and smile had never let me go.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

